Day 29

When did I wake up and realize that, I couldn’t grow up to be a dinosaur?

I went and saw Beauty and the Beast today. And it was amazingly perfect. But I walked out and felt… melancholy. It is just sad to realize that part of my life is over. It’s not just that I’m not a kid anymore, though that is part of it, it’s more complicated than simply growing up.

I no longer accept magic without question, or believe that I can be anything. When did I wake up and realize that, no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t grow up to be a dinosaur? When did talking dishes, glamorous gowns, and adventures become stories and no longer dreams? It’s like I’m living in the part of life called “Happily Ever After” instead of still searching for it.

Which is a completely different life altogether. It’s just not talked about as much. Characters live happily ever after, but you rarely see what that life actually looks like. I guess because you live it instead of dreaming it.

You dream and dance your way through the journey, then you get to really liveĀ once you made it to ‘after.’

Leave a Reply

