Day 27

I’m just looking for a career that will hold onto me.

I’ve heard a lot of talk recently about the instability of the millennial generation. How we (and yes I’m owning that I am a millennial, though I hate the term) can’t follow through, never move out, won’t buy homes, and can’t hold down a career.  And while all of those accusations hold a lot of problems for me, I want to talk about careers.

Currently, I’m looking for a career, not a job. There is a difference – a job is something you do, it’s something you learn from, it provides a paycheck, and a place to go everyday. You can be proud of your job and happy with your co-workers. But, when you walk in the door, you mutter to yourself that this won’t be forever. I’ve had several jobs, some that I took knowing they’d be jobs, and others that I hoped would be a career but weren’t.

A career, to me, is something you are, it’s something that you grow from, it provides a paycheck, and a goal to meet everyday. You are energized by your career, surrounded by like-minded people, and everyday when you walk in the door you know you’ll make an impact. I’ve worked in two different careers, I worked hard in both, started out passionate about both, and ended up figuring out that neither were a good fit.

And I certainly don’t think this makes me entitled, or lazy, I can hold down a career. I’m just looking for a career that will hold onto me.

I don’t think that staying at a job for fifty years is more commendable than bouncing until you find the right fit – it’s not less commendable either. I think that we are trying to readjust the meaning of responsibility. It’s no longer defined by rule following and longevity. It is instead about creativity and follow through.

Or maybe I’m difficult.

But the reality is, you don’t want a bunch people to hold down a career they hate; then nothing will ever grow.

Leave a Reply

