Day 23

That first pancake has to be messed up – so you can adjust the rest of the batch

I knew I had made it when I finally mastered the art of pancake making. For years the only thing that I could successfully make was chocolate chip cookies. And, for the record, I make amazingly good cookies. But pancakes continued to evade me, which drove me nuts, because I love pancakes. They would be raw in the middle, or two brown on the outside. The struggle, friends, was real.

Then – it happened – everything came together and I made the perfectly round, just the right golden, fluffy pancakes. I figured out the right consistency for the batter, was gifted a skillet from my mom, and found the perfect spatula for flipping. And now, pancakes are made and always perfect.

Except the first pancake. That one is always the fuck up.

But, I’ve decided, that first pancake has to be messed up – so you can adjust the rest of the batch. Have you figured out where I’m going with this yet? You can have all of the correct pieces and have mastery of it all, but you’re still going to mess up that first pancake. Because you have to, you have to learn. So, next time something in your life goes wrong, even though you know you did exactly what you were supposed to, just know that it was the first pancake.

Adjust the ingredients, change the heat, give that first one to the dog and make the rest of the batch. It will be perfect.

Leave a Reply

