Day 18

But when you’re a people who doesn’t like people…

Listening to Bob Ross laugh at himself while describing his ‘crazy’ ideas is like seeing your dog smile up at you. Just a little reminder that the simple things are worth being happy about.

Yeah, I’m currently watching Bob Ross, what of it?

I’ve been reading a lot about how to grow as a person and find your career and whatever. I roll my eyes, but they do help. Anyway, a consistent piece of advice they give is to surround yourself with people who inspire you. If you want to start a business, hang with business owners, if you want to do the impossible – hang out with people who have done it.

Great advice, and proven to work. But when you’re a people who doesn’t like people… not great. I can’t find other people to hang out with, let alone people who are already doing what I want. And it’s not about talking to people, I can talk to strangers. In fact, last week I bonded with a random person at a grocery store because we were laughing about husbands, mine because he didn’t know his allergies, and hers because he climbed inside a duvet to get it on (how do you even do that?!?!). But that’s not making friends or finding the right people-energy to surround yourself with.

So, Bob Ross.

I don’t know if this is true, but, I’ve heard stories of how Bob Ross was a Drill Sargent in the military.  When he got out, he taught himself to paint, and promised never to yell again. (Like I said, I don’t know if this is true – and frankly I don’t really want to – so let it alone). The legend says that the man crafted his life, just like a painting. He had a base layer to paint over, decided he wanted some trees on top and turned mistakes into happy little clouds.

And that is the energy I want to surround myself with. I want to change my career, do something I love, and laugh.  Just like Bob Ross.

One thought on “Day 18

Leave a Reply

