Day 11

You’re right, you’re right, I know you’re right.

If you haven’t seen¬†When Harry Met Sally, you’re missing out and you need to get it together and watch it. It’s a brilliant trip through the 80s with Meg Ryan (Sally) and Billy Crystal (Harry). In the movie Sally’s best friend is Marie, played by the late great Carrie Fisher (heart still broken). Now, Sally keeps having to tell Marie very obvious information because she is unable to see the truth. And Marie always responds with, ” You’re right, you’re right, I know you’re right.” But then changes nothing.

This is me dealing with realities I know, but don’t want to acknowledge. For example, I’d love to get in shape. Before I moved I attended a fitness class that had the best teacher and went with a friend who would suffer with me. But I moved. Well – says life – just get up and go to the gym that is literally 3 floors below your apartment. You’re right, you’re right I know you’re right.

But in six weeks, you want to know how many times I’ve walked down to that foam floored, metal monster filled, fitness hell? …twice…

Here’s another one; fruit. I really hate fruit, look I love vegetables, I don’t survive on cheese alone. But, the texture of fruit freaks me out, the acidity gives me heartburn and the taste is just wrong. But – says life – people who don’t eat fruit get scurvy. Scurvy dude, scurvy. Do you really want a disease that pirates had?! You’re right, you’re right, I know you’re right.

So I bought a thing of strawberries at the store yesterday. I mean as great as talking like a pirate would be in theory – scurvy seems less appealing. But, now I’m just staring at a clear plastic thing of strawberries,¬†what the hell am I going to do with this?!?

You – says life – need to get it together.

You’re right, you’re right, I know you’re right. But where’s the fun in that???

 

Leave a Reply

